Day 2: I “Lourve” This Place

My inner nerd is showing.

Today was tourist day. Our taxi arrived at 8:45am to take us to our first destination: The Lourve. We reserved a 9:30am half-day tour, which shows the most important museum artifacts. Initially, the Lourve was a fortress to protect the French from the English. In the 1980’s, archeologists unearthed what was left of those remains and as a result, the museum expanded underground.

image

Our tour guide said that there are over 35,000 pieces in the Lourve. If you wanted to see everything, it would take a whopping 13 weeks! My favorite parts of the museum were the Greek and Roman pieces. I took Latin in school for seven years and, consequently, continue to have an obsession with mythology (I can’t help it). I also loved the Mona Lisa of course! It turns out Europeans like to steal things. Much of the art in the Lourve was stolen by Napoleon, the first emperor of France (apparently this guy was a handful).

image

image

image

Enough of this history lesson. Following our tour, I finally ate some good American food: pepperoni pizza. Turns out I’m not much for French cuisine. I was welcomed to the City of Love abruptly while I ate. A man and woman were showing their kissing skills next to us in the Lourve food court (not while I’m eating!).

I wanted to see more. We hopped on a double decker tour bus that took us from the Lourve to Notre Dame. On the way, we passed that cute bridge with all of the locks; it was amazing. Notre Dame is sheer beauty. I’ve only ever seen it in movies and it is a masterpiece of a church.

image

The tour bus took us along the river and down the Champs Élysées before arriving at the Eiffel Tower. Our plan was to go to the top, but apparently December 30 is the busiest day of the year. We waited in line a good 45 mins before realizing the queue was going to take another 2 hours. Luckily, time was not wasted. We met the nicest young couple from England in line. So although we didn’t make it to the top, we made some new friends!

image

It started to rain so we made our way back to Hotel Arioso. We decided to eat dinner at Bistro Romain, an Italian cafe close to our hotel. The food was delicious. Mom had spaghetti bolognese and I had the carbonara with pancetta.

Off to Spain tomorrow!

One thought on “Day 2: I “Lourve” This Place

  1. Pingback: Europe Scrapbook: Paris Day 21 | memories & dust

Leave a Reply

